Austrian study on new business models by Industrie 4.0 presented in Klagenfurt, Graz and Linz

The study "New Business Models for Digital Transformation and Industry 4.0", commissioned by BMVIT and FFG, and the recommendations for action derived from it were presented by BM Jörg Leichtfried as part of a tour of the federal states.

Digital transformation is still at an early stage, but has potentially far-reaching long-term effects. Industry 4.0 is expected to put pressure on existing business models of manufacturing companies and to develop and establish new ones. Major technical drivers of this predicted transformation are advances in sensor technology and in information and communication technology. Many companies and politicians need to take action.

Against this background, the BMVIT and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) commissioned a four-part study volume to assess the attitude of Austrian production companies to digital change. Two volumes have already been published, now followed the presentation of the two final reports “Analysis of Business Model Innovations through Digital Transformation with Industry 4.0” and “Action Recommendations for Digital Transformation through Industry 4.0 and New Business Models”.

To this end, qualitative interviews with managers were conducted in 68 Austrian companies. From these interviews, the study authors have derived 7 concrete recommendations for action for industry and 4 for politics. For practical illustration, 5 current Best Practice Case Studies from Austrian companies show how different aspects of the outlined recommendations for action can be implemented in concrete terms.

The studies were developed by the Salzburg Research Association in cooperation with evolaris next level GmbH and Syngroup Management Consulting GmbH. The recommendations for action and all study reports from this series are available for free download: https://i40transform.salzburgresearch.at/

The study was presented by Federal Minister Jörg Leichtfried and study author Markus Lassnig of Salzburg Research at cms electronics in Klagenfurt and AVL List in Graz.  As a supporting programme for the study presentations, IV Steiermark and IV Kärnten organized business lunches with Federal Minister Jörg Leichtfried in Graz and Pörtschach.

On the occasion of the study presentations, information events and expert consultations were also held in Linz and Klagenfurt by the Platform Industry 4.0 Austria. In these half-day workshops, the participants had the opportunity to discuss the results of the study with study author Markus Lassnig, Manuel Brunner from the Upper Austrian Mechatronics Cluster on Industry 4.0 Check (maturity model) and learn more about norms, standards and patents in the area of industry 4.0 by Stefan Harasaek (Austrian Patent Office) and Andreas Cepnik (Austrian Standards International).

© Arlene Joobes
© Arlene Joobes
© Arlene Joobes
© Walter Fritz
© Walter Fritz
© Gilbert Waldner
© Gilbert Waldner
© Gilbert Waldner
© Gilbert Waldner

Österreichische Studie zu neuen Geschäftsmodellen durch Industrie 4.0 in Klagenfurt, Graz und Linz präsentiert

Die von BMVIT und FFG in Auftrag gegebene Studie „Neue Geschäftsmodelle für die digitale Transformation und Industrie 4.0“ und daraus abgeleitete Handlungsempfehlungen wurden im Zuge einer Bundesländertour von BM Jörg Leichtfried vorgestellt.

Die digitale Transformation ist noch in einer frühen Phase, hat aber langfristig potenziell weitreichende Auswirkungen. Es wird erwartet, dass durch Industrie 4.0 bestehende Geschäftsmodelle produzierender Unternehmen unter Druck geraten und sich neue Modelle entwickeln und etablieren. Wesentliche technische Treiber dieser prognostizierten Transformation sind Fortschritte in der Sensortechnik und in der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie. Viele Unternehmen und auch die Politik haben Handlungsbedarf.

Vor diesem Hintergrundhaben haben das BMVIT und die österreichische Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (FFG) einen vierteiligen Studienband in Auftrag gegeben, um die Einstellung der österreichischen Produktionsbetriebe zum digitalen Wandel zu erheben. Zwei Bände wurden bereits veröffentlicht, jetzt folgte die Präsentation der beiden abschließenden Berichte „Analyse von Geschäftsmodellinnovationen durch die digitale Transformation mit Industrie 4.0“ und daraus abgeleitet „Handlung Empfehlungen zur digitalen Transformation durch Industrie 4.0 und neue Geschäftsmodelle“.

Dazu wurden in 68 österreichischen Unternehmen qualitative Interviews mit Managerinnen und Managern geführt. Aus diesen Interviews haben die Studienautor und Studienautorinnen 7  konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen für Industrie und 4 für die Politik abgeleitet. Zur praktischen Veranschaulichung zeigen 5 aktuelle Best Practice Case Studies von österreichischen Unternehmen, wie verschiedene Aspekte der skizzierten Handlungsempfehlungen konkret umgesetzt werden können.

Die Studien wurden von der Forschungsgesellschaft Salzburg Research in Zusammenarbeit mit der evolaris next level GmbH sowie der Syngroup Management Consulting GmbH erarbeitet. Die Handlungsempfehlungen und alle Studienberichte aus dieser Reihe stehen zum kostenlosen Download zur Verfügung: https://i40transform.salzburgresearch.at/

Präsentiert wurde die Studie von Bundesminister Jörg Leichtfried und Studienautor Markus Lassnig von Salzburg Research bei cms electronics in Klagenfurt und bei AVL List in Graz.  Als Rahmenprogramm zu den Studienpräsentationen wurden von  der IV Steiermark und IV Kärnten  Business-Lunches mit Bundesminister Jörg Leichtfried in Graz und Pörtschach organisiert.

Anlässlich der Studienpräsentationen wurden von der Plattform Industrie 4.0 auch Informationsveranstaltungen und ExpertInnenberatungen in Linz und Klagenfurt abgehalten. In diesen Halbtagesworkshops hatten die Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen die Möglichkeit die Studienergebnisse mit Studienautor Markus Lassnig zu diskutieren, sich bei Manuel Brunner vom Mechatronik Cluster Oberösterreich über den Industrie 4.0 Check (Reifegradmodell) zu informieren und mehr über Normen, Standards und Patente im Bereich Industrie 4.0 von Stefan Harasaek (Österreichisches Patentamt) und Andreas Cepnik (Austrian Standards International) zu erfahren.

 

© Arlene Joobes
© Arlene Joobes
© Arlene Joobes
© Walter Fritz
© Walter Fritz
© Gilbert Waldner
© Gilbert Waldner
© Gilbert Waldner
© Gilbert Waldner
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone